St Catherine’s Catholic College, Singleton Crest


St Catherine’s has designed a program of study that allows students to meet mandatory NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) requirements while also providing them with the flexibility to follow their own program of study to meet their future employment requirements.

Students study a range of courses in Year 7 and 8 (Stage Four) in addition to the core subjects, to enable them to make informed elective choices for Years 9 to 12.

Students at St Catherine’s are required to study across eight areas over Years 7 to 12.  Five of these areas of study are studied in each of Years 7 to 12. These are:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Human Society and its Environment
  • Personal Development/Health/Physical Education

At some time during Years 7 to 10, students are also required to study courses in Creative Arts (Music and Visual Art), Languages other than English and Technological and Applied Studies.

As a Catholic school, St Catherine’s requires all students to complete courses in Religious Studies each year.

Areas of Study

St Catherine’s offers a wide range of subject study areas to its students. For more information, see the NESA website.

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Religious Studies
  • Science
  • HSIE
  • Technology and Applied Studies
  • Creative Arts
  • Languages
  • Electives
    • Agriculture
    • iSTEM
    • Design and Technology
    • Information Technology
    • Photography

* Students can choose no more than one VET Course as an elective.
** In addition to meeting competencies, VET Courses require students to do 35 hours of work placement to attain a Certificate I and 70 hours of work placement to attain a Certificate II.

Important Documents

Work Experience Work Placement Insurance


Student Workplace Learning Record

Employer Guide To Workplace Learning

Student And Parent Guide To Workplace Learning